This must seem like an odd post to read at this time, but it seems Hubby and I are following the school calendar even though no one in our immediate family is in school or has been or will be in several years. But we both like school.  We like the fresh school supplies…. the change in routines…. the challenges and fun it presents… seeing friends and teachers again… September was always a wonderful time for us.

To start off, during this past month, ladyBug has nicely regulating her nap schedule. She wakes around 8:30am and takes her nap around 10:30. Her nap will last around 1.5-2 hours. During this 1.5 – 2 hour period this month, Boo and I have been testing the waters and with success tried some Tot School activities.  So starting September, we will officially have Tot School 3-4 days a week. I will explain more about Tot School in another post. But simply said, Tot School is like homeschool for toddlers (aka tots).

Every other Friday, the kids and I will be visiting the Bronx Zoo or the NY Botanical Garden, pending weather. If you want to join us, let me know. =) Digum and mommy will be joining us too!  We’re going September 7th.  Zoo or Garden?

One of my goals for the new year is to be more active. So I joined a meetup group, Strolling with Strollers in Queens.  This group meets weekly, typically somewhere near a train station.  We walk for about 25-30 minutes to a playground where  we take a break and the kiddies play a little.  Then we will walk back.  As long as I can easily get to the meeting spot with two kids, I’m planning to go and join.  My first stroll will be Sept 6th.  We’ll see how it goes.

During our vacation, Hubby and I had some family meeting times where we re-evaluated various aspects of our personal, family, work, couple, and ministry life.  We redistributed our chores and set specific schedules for each of us to complete ministry and business.  We’ve been trying hard stick with our evening routines and weekly plans.  It’s been hard.  It seems like there’s just so much to do in just one evening.  We know it’s harder because we have two kids and they take up a huge chuck of our time and energy.  But we’re keeping with it.

Since we both want to continue building our side businesses, we set aside time for marketing as well as time to do business stuff. That means sewing and crocheting for me!  I’m super excited!  =D

During our vacation, we met two minister friends and wives vacationing during breakfast one day.  Through the t-shirt I was wearing, a Jesus Day t-shirt from high school, we got to start talking.  One was a pastoring couple from Wales and the other was a pastoring couple from Illinois.  Somehow in our conversation, politics came up and Hubby eloquently shared his opinions.  By the end, they were praying for Hubby to run for a political office one day and said they were going to look out for Hubby’s name in the news.  It’s hard to find good Christians in politics.  This spurred Hubby to start a new project.  Starting September, Hubby will be posting a weekly political podcast for those who want to be informed but dislike politics.  I’ll keep you posted!  =)

6 responses »

  1. Jasmine says:

    Cant wait to discuss Tot School with you more! Let’s set a date – I am free on Sept 12. I can go to your place if you want. I’ll bring my stuff. Oh and I’m in for the field trips!! =)

  2. Janelle says:

    Planning is such a fun part of this time of year. Even though I’ve been homeschooling my boys forever, I still enjoy this beginning stage.

  3. […] 3-4 times a week.  We started Tot School last week on Tuesday, after Labor Day Monday.  Then we strolled on Thursday and went to the zoo on Friday.  This week, we visited grandparents on Monday.  We […]

Leave a Reply

