written in October 2004 by Hubby

“The LORD God said, “It is not good for the man to be alone.  I will make a helper suitable for him.”  Genesis 2:18

This past year, I worked on a fruit and vegetable far, as part of my education.  Sometimes I would work side-by-side with the owner of the farm.  But many other times, the owner was not present, either because he was in China or because he was at the doctor or because he was resting.  This provided much opportunity for me to be by myself.  I would listen to the radio or sing to myself to pass the time.  Most of the time, however, I would just work in silence and think about life.

The first farmer was Adam, who was a perfect man.  His job was to work and take care of the beautiful world God made.  God had made the land and said it was good.  He had made the plants and said it was good.  He had made the birds of the air, the fish of the sea, and the beasts of the field and said it was good.  God walked with Adam everyday and had his full devotion.  But when he saw the man working by himself, God said it was not good.  And if Adam had known what a woman was, I’m sure he would have agreed.

David was a farmer after God’s own heart.  He was the youngest son of a shepherd in the least important village in the country.  He spent his days strumming his lyre with no one but his sheep as an audience.  He single-handedly killed wild animals when he was merely a teenager.  David was a true lone ranger, a picture of rugged manliness, an individual who had a deep relationship with God.  But when troubles came, David felt weak and lonely, demanding to know where was God.  Why, O LORD, do you stand far off?  Why do you hide yourself in times of trouble?  (Psalm 10:1)

How I identified with Adam and David during my days alone ont he farm!  Both were men who were working hard and trying to do a good job.  And both men who were alone, or at times felt alone – tremendously alone.  They were never really alone because God never left them, but their feelings of loneliness were real.  Somehow God, who is supposed to be more than enough, left something to be desired in these men and in myself.

Satan would love to have lonely men stay lonely.  He wants to remind us of broken dreams, fail relationships, and the overall heaviness of our lives.  He doesn’t want us to feel good, because if we feel good, we might praise God.  But the thing is, our relationship with God is not based on a feeling, but on a promise.

Many times, I did not feel like praising God.  I did not want to thank GOd for anything.  Then I day as I was working on the farm by myself, I listened closely tot he chorus of a song I hear many times before by gospel singer Donnie McClurkin:

What if it hurts? (I’ll trust You, Lord)
What id you cry? (I’ll trust You, Lord)
What if it doesn’t work out the first time that you try? (I’ll trust You, Lord)
What if you call My name? (I’ll trust You, Lord)
And you don’t feel me near? (I’ll trust You, Lord)
Will you believe in Me or will you fear? O my child?

The words touched my soul.  These words reminded me of the simple, childlike faith I used to have, the kid that told me I am basically invincible.  The faith I had before I realized how weak I really was.  The writer of Hebrews 13:5-6 says this:  “Be content with what you have, because God has said never will I leave you;  never will I forsake you.  So we say with confidence, ‘The LORD is my helper; I will not be afraid.'”

The pain of loneliness was as real for Adam and David as it is for us today.  It is not wrong to feel this way.  But what us your response to God when you feel this way?  Do you believe that God promises never to leave you?

Leave a Reply

