Just a heads up.  I’m not going to be posting about our potty training journey everyday or even most days.  And I’m not going to be graphic.

But for those of you just joining, here’s the first post of my potty training series:  a break, but with another challenge.

After getting ready for our big day Monday, I went to bed super late…  I cleared Boo’s playing area: putting away the play area gate, putting away most toys, and clearing the floor.  I placed one potty in the living room/play area with two books besides it.

In the kitchen I have the same set-up, one potty with two books.  However, this potty is the one I bring with us to the backyard when we’re doing outside stuff.

  

In the bathroom, I have a toilet trainer on the toilet with some books next to the toilet.

Then I created 2 rewards chart for Boo and hung one on top of the other on the dining room wall after I took down all the other hangings: paintings,drawings and such.

  

The first chart is currently on top of the other.  I’m thinking the rewards chart will not only help establish the rewards concept but also serve as a visual reminder.  The idea is, after each pee/poo in the any of the potty, Boo places a sticker on the chart and gets some mini M&Ms.  I bought the mini M&Ms several weeks ago in anticipation of the next potty training period.

The second chart starts after the first is finished and potty training is more established.  After each pee/poo in the any of the potty, Boo places a sticker on the chart.  After each line of stars is covered with stickers, Boo gets a chocolate kiss, mini or regular.  I haven’t decided yet.  At the completion of the entire chart, he gets new fire truck.

I chose these incentives because Boo already loves chocolate and he’s been asking for a fire truck for some time.  He’s not that into stickers, but I wanted a visual representation of completion.  I decided against coloring in or crossing off in case Boo does that on his own.  He has times when he’s drawing/coloring unsupervised.  He doesn’t walk around with his crayons/markers nor does he draw on anything but the paper.  But I didn’t want to take the chance and needing to reprint the chart.

We’ll see how these work out.  =)

13 responses »

  1. Jasmine says:

    Love the cute potties! We have only one toilet trainer on the toilet. I still haven’t been consistent and then Jubi got sick. Let’s see what this week will bring!

    • The white, babybjorn potty was borrowed form my mom just for this period.

      If the baby was around, I wouldn’t been able to be consistent either. But with her at my mom’s, I am really able to spend time reinforcing his skills and reminding him of what to feel for. It’s only Day #2 but the difference is huge. In the past, not a single drop in the potty or toilet. Yesterday, 2 “accidents” in the potty. He was just sitting there and it happened as he was reading or watching dvd. Today, 3 intentionals! He told me he needed to pee and he did. But I’m sure it’s also that he’s more ready now than 4 months or 2 months ago.

  2. […] potty training preparations […]

  3. […] Potty Training preparations […]

  4. The essential properties of coconut oil just doesn’t appeal to you,
    but one of the most well-known ingredients in virgin
    coconut oil is raw coconut oil with you. It has provided many new and multiplex chemicals and compounds for
    every use under the sun, it is converted into monolaurin and monocaprin, by
    some harmless bacteria present on the skin for about one month.

  5. These are in fact great ideas in on the topic of blogging.
    You have touched some fastidious factors here. Any way keep up wrinting.

  6. qstao.com says:

    Thanks for some other informative site. The place else may just I get
    that kind of information written in such an ideal
    manner? I have a undertaking that I am just now operating on,
    and I’ve been at the glance out for such info.

  7. What a stuff of un-ambiguity and preserveness of valuable experience about
    unexpected feelings.

  8. Awesome! Its actually remarkable post, I have got much clear
    idea on the topic of from this paragraph.

  9. Nice response in return of this matter with genuine arguments and explaining all concerning
    that.

  10. After I originally left a comment I appear to have clicked on the -Notify me when new comments are added- checkbox and now each
    time a comment is added I get four emails with the exact same comment.
    Is there a way you are able to remove me from that service?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

