I recently got a new job. 

It’s kind of crazy really, considering that Digum’s mommy and I have been working on our crocheting/sewing business AND I homeschool the kids AND we’re expecting #4. I wasn’t actively looking for a job with the busyness of our life, with several big bumps recently… =P

It all started when one of my blogging/homeschooling friends was hosting an Usborne Book party. Usborne is a children’s book publishing company. They have books for kids of all ages and is a direct sales company. She asked me several months ago and I wasn’t available then.  Then sometime after that, I realized that several of our homeschooling books are from that SAME publishing company – Usborne Books!  So when she had another party recently and I made sure I was available.  It turned out Usborne books are pretty awesome!!  So when asked if I wanted to host my own party and earn FREE BOOKS, I was like…”Well…I guess I can host a party.”

You know what?!?! I earned $225 in free and discounted books. 

excited to party!

During the party, becoming an Usborne consultant was introduced to me…  I thought about it. It wasn’t too hard to figure it out. I just need to have one decent party to pay for the cost of my kit. There was a GREAT deal in September for new consultants. After that I could just be done if I wanted (and I could keep all the books I got!). There were no sales minimums, so I didn’t have to worry about that month-to-month, and there are no penalties if I decided to just call it quits and walk away. It was going to be a hobby, easy and fun.

So I signed up to become an Usborne Books & More Independent Consultant. 

books make me smile2

During the first 12 weeks a consultant gets to offer double free book rewards. So everything you would normally earn at a party as the hostess is just doubled. If you earn $100 free books, you get $200 instead. It’s crazy! I figured I would just give this a go for 12 weeks and help some of my own friends earn free books too!
like books- get double

However, when I joined Usborne, the support system was amazing and the details of how and why we do what we do was motivating… So I decided that Usborne was going to be more than just a hobby.  I was going to work a bit harder to pay for homeschooling books and extracurricular activities for my kids. I want to build a business.

I look forward to the couple hours every night I get to be *more* than just a mom. I get to succeed at something that is completely me. This new found passion for Usborne is really just about reaching out of my home and achieving some goals just for me. Running Facebook parties (which is most of what I do since it doesn’t require a babysitter and I can wear pajamas…) gives me a chance to chat online with other people, some adult interactions… Plus, I get to share my experience with Usborne books, and help people find the perfect books for their home or classroom.

I also love that Usborne consultants aren’t limited to home parties. I can do book drives, fundraisers, and book fairs too! It’s a lot to take in, but I know that those kinds of things are how we put books into the hands of kids who really need them. Kids who don’t have access to quality books at home.

But enough about me. Let’s talk about YOU.  I have two opportunities I want to tell you about.

First is a GIVEAWAY (you were wondering when I was getting to that part didn’t you?). #4 is due in one short month and to celebrate with you before I can’t anymore… =P  I’m giving away a $25 gift certificate to Usborne Books! To enter you just have to hop on over to Facebook and join my Usborne group to comment on the giveaway post.

$25 giveaway

This is closed group, which means you have to request to join and I’ll add you. Why a closed group? It’s just out of respect for my friends. If it’s an open group, then all of my groups posts will flood my Facebook newsfeed and drive my non-bookloving friends crazy. A closed group means only those who are interested get the info.

Secondly, I want to invite you to book a Facebook party with me. Right now, I only have 6 more party dates open before my incentive period is over AND before #4 is due to be born!

However, I’m sure there are a few of you that would seriously LOVE to get free books and activities for Christmas this year. You can email me or comment below or message me on Facebook. I’d love to work with you. 

If you want to browse our catalog, you can find my shopping website here.

kids on books

Leave a Reply

